Generosity is not about lowering your price

Mickey Mellen
1 min readApr 16, 2024

There are many ways to be generous with your clients, and lowering your price can perhaps be a way to do that. In many cases, though, that’s not really what being generous is all about.

In a recent episode of the “Finding Mastery” podcast, Seth Godin shared some thoughts on this:

“Generosity is not about lowering your price. It’s about doing the emotional labor to make things better for somebody else. And that might mean if you’re a luxury good provider raising your price.”

If you’re talking about a luxury product, sometimes raising the price can be the best thing you can do for your customer. It’s rare, certainly, but possible. Other times, lowering your price may be the way to show the most generosity.

Most of the time, though, “ doing the emotional labor to make things better for someone else” is the best way to be generous. How can I do more of that today?

Originally published at https://www.mickmel.com on April 16, 2024.

--

--

Mickey Mellen

I’m a cofounder of @GreenMellen, and I’m into WordPress, blogging and seo. Love my two girls, gadgets, Google Earth, and I try to run when I can.