Viral posts versus 1-on-1

Mickey Mellen
2 min readMay 22, 2024

I’m finding Threads to be an excellent social media platform right now. It’s grown large enough to have great conversations, but not too large (yet) that it invites in all of the chaos. It’ll be interesting to see how it continues to grow, but right now it’s an excellent space to spend time in.

Rand Fishkin, who I’ve written about a handful of times on here before, had an excellent take on the contrast of trying to “go viral” versus just making connections. He shared:

Too many folks believe social media’s all about reach. They optimize for posts that can earn thousands or millions of engagements.

But there’s another way to view these networks — as 1:1 connectors.

Like anyone, I think it’s cool when one of my posts here “does well.” But 99% of my activity is the opposite. I read & reply to people when I like their work or want to support/amplify them. I post things that are valuable for 100 people but not of much interest to millions. And it works great 🥰

His activity on Threads, as I’ve witnessed on mine, has been one with some great connections. None of my posts on there have gone viral, and I doubt any ever will, but it’s a fantastic platform simply to be able to connect with others.

Connect with me on there (@mickmel) if you’re active over there yet.

Originally published at https://www.mickmel.com on May 22, 2024.

--

--

Mickey Mellen

I’m a cofounder of @GreenMellen, and I’m into WordPress, blogging and seo. Love my two girls, gadgets, Google Earth, and I try to run when I can.